Blue Monday

Apparently today is Blue Monday; the most depressing day of the year. The weather is certainly doing its best to assist with that, but music isn’t! What a treat today has been for my ears.

This Town Needs Guns - 13.0.0.0

First up, the brand new This Town Needs Guns album has been released and blimey, what a cracker. I had the misfortunate of reading a review which gave it 5/10 and provided inaccurate reference points such as Foals and Two Door Cinema Club. Let me tell you this – it’s a strong 9/10 and if you’re in need of some reference points, may I suggest Pinback, Braid and of course, any Kinsella project such as Owls, American Football, Make Believe et al.

With 13.0.0.0.0, TTNG have really taken things to the next level, helped by Henry Tremaine’s exceptional vocals. I’m biased here, because not only has Henry got a great first name, but he’s also one of my favourite people – and one of my favourite singers. Don’t just take my word for it – give it a listen (and then go and buy it):

Today has also seen the release of a brand new single from The Chapman Family. It’s free to download, and you should definitely go and do just that. It reminds me of bands like Pavement, My Bloody Valentine, Sonic Youth, The Pixies and Sebadoh, but courtesy of Kingsley inimitable vocals, it sounds very much like The Chapman Family. Which is a relief. It’s a tremendous song and has made me very excited about hearing more of their new stuff this year.

Last, but by no means least, Sunderland super-group B>E>A>K have also released a new track today. It’s probably my favourite song of theirs to date and is the first to feature vocals:

So yeah, Blue Monday can do one!

What do you think?

