Out Of Spite

I think I’ve finally almost recovered from last weekend’s Out Of Spite XI festival at The Well in Leeds. Musical highlights included Leatherface, Milloy, Pylon, Protectors, Bangers, The Dauntless Elite, Glass Avalanche and Coal Train to name but a few, although the real highlight was seeing an awful lot of friends that I don’t get to see even half as much as I wish I could.

Pylon played their last ever gig on the Sunday night and to say they’ll be sorely missed is a massive understatement. I’ve got to know them quite well as people over the past few years and was fortunate enough to share a stage with them on a few occasions back in the DARTZ! days so it’s hard to articulate how I genuinely feel about their music without coming across as a bit creepy… I’ll just keep it simple and say that they’ve been a pretty important band in my musical upbringing!

Thankfully Chris Pylon’s new band Protectors are pretty nifty too, eh? Cheers to everybody who picked up one of the Protectors Party Bags at OOS – fair to say that they were probably the fastest selling Pay For The Piano Recordings release to date! Get me on the Apprentice. I’ve saved the music industry. Who’d have thought that putting a CD, a bottle opener, a t-shirt and a few stickers inside a tote bag would prove so popular… tote-ally brilliant.

Protectors

What do you think?

